Jazzy's Lounge

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Jazzy

8va ~ Going the octave higher
Staff member
Administrator
Amplify Staff
Site Supporter
Founding Member
20181005_191831.jpg

Jazzy's Lounge

'Sup, name's Jazzy. I'm one of the founders of MKCentral and the tech guy/developer behind all the magic. I'm also real chill. Figured I'd finally make a page here.

Mario Kart Career

As a kid I started playing MK casually, starting with Super Circuit for the GBA and then DS, Wii, and 7. I bought 8U with the intention of playing competitive time trials and joined the Mario Kart 8 Players' Page in May of 2015. I consider that to be my entrance to the community. On that day or thereabouts I submitted basic a prototype of the Players' Page that would eventually come to be, and was near immediately promoted to be staff on the site, also at times doing news updates or updating submissions. After two years of hacking away, the new version of the MK8 Players' Page was launched on April 18, 2017.

Around that time, a great friend, @Twonk, started telling me about his plans to make a MK tournament. This would eventually come to be Amplify but it took both of us for the dream to become reality. The first Amplify tournament started on September 30, 2017, after a few months of planning and setting up the website, and went as well as we could have hoped for.

Hopping back 5 days, to September 25, 2017, I launched MKLeaderboards, which hosts the modern MK8D time trials community. Originally a very simple site with basic features and only American and European top 10s (no worldwide or other charts), the site has expanded since then to become very popular, and still with more potential.