NiGHT | The NightCrawler

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

NIGHT

Staff member
Media Staff
Site Supporter
NiGHT

how i got started in the scene...

Sup everyone, I'm NiGHT (short for NightCrawler) and I've only been playing Mario Kart for about 13 months. I'm 27 years old and am originally from Boston, Massachusetts. I work in the entertainment and travel industry, which led me to relocate to Las Vegas, NV. I've been in Las Vegas for the past 3 years, and in September of 2018 I went to the 6th ever Saturday Night Speedway (a 50-70 person LAN tournament weekly in Las Vegas)

Like anyone just starting out, I was pure garbage. I never owned a Nintendo in my life (sorry, but it's true) and I didn't even know how the controls worked. I originally was finishing in the top 20, but found myself in the first 2-3 tournaments on the outside looking in. My original intention was to go to the tournament with some coworkers and just drink and have fun after a long week of traveling. After 3-4 tournaments, I invested in my own switch and started grinding. I ended up becoming a top 20 player in Vegas and accumulated one of the craziest winning streaks in tournament history- 7 months straight of being undefeated in 200cc Baby Park and Shine Thief. If you won the "2nd chance" it would guarantee you into the semi finals. It wasn't the best streak to be known for, because I was a fringe player still and hella inconsistent.